There are two types of speeding laws in Illinois: a “basic speeding law” and “absolute limit.”
Illinois’ basic speeding law specifies that a speed that is “greater than is reasonable and proper with regard to traffic conditions and the use of the highway, or endangers the safety of any person or property”, is prohibited. Motorists must drive at a safe speed at all times.
Illinois’ absolute speed limit is not to exceed the corresponding limit as posted or understood based on location by statute.
Illinois’ absolute speed limits include:
• 70 miles per hour on interstate highways
• 65 miles per hour state highways with at least four lanes that are outside urban districts
• 55 miles per hour on other highways, roadways, and streets outside urban districts
• 30 miles per hour on urban district roadways
• 15 miles per hour in urban district alleys, and
• 20 miles per hour in school zones.
Possible penalties for speeding in Illinois are:
• $120 fine for driving 1 to 20 mph over the limit
• $140 fine for driving 21 to 25 mph over the limit
• A maximum of $1,500 fine, Class B misdemeanor and up to 6 months in jail for driving 26 to 35 mph over the limit
• A maximum of $2,500 fine, Class A misdemeanor and up to 1 year in jail for driving 35 mph over the limit
A speeding violations adds points to your driving record. Accumulating too many points leads to license suspension.