Illinois has an aggressive anti-DUI program. Drunk driving, impaired driving, driving under the influence of drugs, (prescribed, abused, or illegal), is a DUI offense.
To be considered legally drunk and unable to drive, your blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) has to be 0.08% or higher. If you are pulled over with a BAC of 0.08% or more, or refuse to test, the Secretary of State may suspend your license. After 45 days, if no action is taken, you will receive a statutory summary suspension.
Statutory Summary Suspensions for FIRST time offenders are:
• 6 months for a failed breathalyzer/ Field Sobriety Test
• 12 months for refusal to take tests administered by law enforcement
If you are convicted of a DUI, The Illinois Secretary of State can take further action against your driver’s license such as additional terms of suspension or revocation.
Criminal penalties for DUI convictions are subject to the individual circumstances of your case. Possible penalties include:
• 1 year Driver’s License Suspension/ Revocation
• County or State jail time
• Up to $2,500 maximum fine
Additionally, once the term of your suspension/ revocation is complete you may need to take additional steps to bring your license back into good standing. These steps may include the following:
• Drug / Alcohol Evaluation and Program (if required)
• Administrative Hearing
• Proof of Financial Stability
• $500 License Reinstatement Fee
• $50 Formal Hearing for 2nd and latter offenses
• $30 New License Fee
• $85 for BAIID Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installation fee
• $80 IID monthly rental fee
• $30 IID monthly monitoring fee
*For more information click on the Resource tab of our site and find Illinois DUI Fact Book